Fort Dade
Established in 1899 on Egmont Key in St. Petersburg Florida. Fort Dade was an Endicott coastal fortification for the defense of Tampa Bay. Over 75 buildings were located on the island and five gun batteries were built. Battery McIntosh, Battery Howard, Battery Burchsted, Battery Page and Battery Mellon. A large fire control tower was located on the island built in 1908 along with two mine casements and mine wharf. The fort was severely damaged in a 1921 hurricane and damages were to expensive so the fort was closed in 1923. Battery McIntosh remained in caretaker status at this time. In 1925 the Federal Bureau of Investigation was looking into illegal immigrants finding shelter in the forts abandon buildings. Because of this the FBI lit a fire ablaze on the island which destroyed all post buildings aside from a few made of cement and brick. The fire burned for days until it went out. The coast guard used the fort in the 1930s and the fort was used for observation during WW2. A lighthouse built in 1858 still stand on the island. The island became a refuge in 1974. Over the years erosion has eaten away at the island putting Battery Burchsted and Page in the surf along with the remains of the 1919 powerplant. The guardhouse is the only remaining and restored post building.
-
Admin Building Location
-
NCO Row
-
NCO Row. Best street at the fort.
-
Egmont key Lighthouse 1858
-
Well?
-
FCS Remains
-
FCS Egmont Key Alliance
-
Coal Shed Location
-
Magazine?
-
Power Plant
-
Commanders Quarters location
-
Old road
-
Bakery Foundation
-
Building Remains
-
Concrete Warehouse
-
Mine Tramway
-
Mine Casement
-
Fire Station
-
Mining Wharf
Battery Mclntosh
Construction began on this 8 inch disappearing gun battery in 1898 and was accepted for service in 1900. It is a two story battery with two disappearing rifles. The battery was used until 1923 when the fort was deactivated. Today the battery has no guns or shell hoists and is open to the public on the island.
-
Battery McIntosh Plan
-
Battery McIntosh Approach
-
Battery McIntosh
-
Emplacement Two Entrance
-
Shell Hoist Well
-
Shell Room Entrance
-
Shell Room
-
Powder Room
-
Shell Hoist Well
-
Interior Stairs to Emplacement
-
Shot Gallery
-
Relocating Room
-
Storeroom Hallway
-
Storeroom Interior
-
Shell unloading Platform
-
Shell Hoist
-
Crows Nest
-
Crows Nest Interior
-
Crows Nest View
-
Gun Position
-
Exterior Stairs and Storeroom Entrance
-
Emplacement Two
-
Emplacement One Entrance
-
Shell Room
-
Shell Hoist Gallery
-
Shell Hoist Well
-
Storage Battery
-
Shot gallery
-
Interior Stairs
-
Looking Down
-
Shell Unloading Area
-
Emplacement
-
Crows Nest
-
Storeroom
-
Exterior Stairs
Battery Howard
Construction began on this 6 inch disappearing gun battery in 1903 and was accepted for service in 1906. It is a single story battery with guns on either side of the magazines. The was deactivated in 1917 and today is getting dangerously close the the surf. The gun emplacements are almost entirely broken up and are closed off while the magazine structure seems intact. The battery has no guns and is mostly open to the public.
-
Battery Howard Plan
-
Battery Howard Approach
-
Battery Howard
-
Emplacement Two Remains
-
Lavatories in Emplacement Two
-
Emplacement Two Magazine Entrance
-
Office
-
Power Room Doorway
-
Emplacement Two Magazine Entrance
-
Emplacement Two
-
Accumulator Room
Battery Burchsted
Construction began in 1898 on this 6 inch pedestal battery and had two guns (A 3 inch masking parapet gun was also located on the battery). The battery is located on the southern side of the island and was deactivated in 1920. The battery today is in the surf and is a popular scuba diving area. The 6 inch guns are on display at Fort De Soto nearby.
-
Battery Burchsted Remains
-
Battery Burchsted Emplacement
Battery Mellon
Built in 1904 and accepted for service the same year, this battery was a two story battery with three masking parapet guns. The battery had a powerplant, a CRF station, a BC Station and a "MM" Station. The battery was deactivated in 1920 and the only structure that remains aside from the battery is the concrete powerplant. The "MM" station instrument mounts remain. Some sort of tower was built on the battery probably during WW2. Its remains can be seen on the second emplacement. The battery is open to the public on the island and is really close to the beach due to erosion.
-
Battery Mellon Plan
-
Battery Mellon Approach
-
Battery Mellon Powerplant
-
Generator Room
-
Pristine Doorframe
-
Electrical Room
-
Bombproof and Magazine Three
-
Bombproof Shock Hall
-
Bombproof Interior
-
Magazine Three Hallway
-
Magazine three
-
Magazine Three Vent
-
Emplacement Three Mount
-
Emplacement Three Observation
-
Emplacement Two Magazine
-
Magazine Interior
-
Emplacement Two Mount
-
Magazine One
-
Interior
-
Emplacement One
-
Emplacement One Observation
-
Battery Mellon
-
Relocating Room
-
Relocating Room Interior
-
"MM" Station Pillars
Battery Page
Built in 1903 and deactivated in 1920 this 3 inch battery of two barbette guns was located on the south side of the island with Battery Burchsted. The battery is broken up on the beach and off limits to the public as it is on the refuge part of the island.
-
Battery Page Remains